+ A

Korean movie stars invited to the Academy

June 27,2018
Actors Ha Jung-woo, Cho Jin-woong, Kim Min-hee and Bae Doo-na have been invited to become members of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences on Tuesday.

The Hollywood organization is the most exclusive club in the film industry. Its members organize and vote for the annual Academy Awards.

This year, 928 film professionals from 59 countries were offered membership.

Many renowned local film industry professionals have joined the Academy over the past four years, including actor Lee Byung-hun, director Lee Chang-dong and more.

This year’s membership class marks the academy’s largest and most diverse list in its history. On the 2018 list, 49 percent are female, 38 percent are people of color and the ages range from as young as 14 years old to 86 years old. The class is also the academy’s largest yet, exceeding last year’s list of 774 members.

New members will get a chance to celebrate together at private receptions to be held in the fall.

By Sung Ji-eun