+ A

ITZY to drop ‘IT’z ICY’ EP today

July 29,2019
Popular rookie girl group ITZY are returning for the summer by dropping their first EP today at 6 p.m, their agency JYP Entertainment announced on Saturday.

“IT’z ICY” has a total of five songs. The lead track “ICY” is a summer song that promotes the quintet’s passions about music, although they may look cold on the outside. JYP Entertainment creator Park Jin-young participated in composing and writing the lyrics.

Other tracks include “Cherry” and “IT’z SUMMER,” each meant to bring out the charisma of each member and highlight the atmosphere of summer festivals. The fourth and fifth tracks are remix versions from “IT’z Different,” the group’s first record.

Their music video for “ICY” was released prior to the EP on Sunday at midnight on YouTube. The five members are planning to host their first fan showcase in Blue Square iMarket Hall, central Seoul, at 8 p.m. today.

The rookie girl group made their official debut on Feb. 12 with their record “IT’z Different,” with two tracks: “Dalla Dalla” and “Want it?”

The quintet’s debut music video “Dalla Dalla” was viewed over 100 million times in 57 days since its release, setting a record amongst K-pop debut groups, reaching the milestone in the shortest period of time.

By Lee Jae-lim