+ A

All clear

Nov 02,2018
People on Yeonpyeong Island look through a binocular telescope at a coastal area of Ongjin County in North Korea. On Thursday, the armed forces of South and North Korea ceased all “hostile acts” against each other along their land, sea and air borders as of Nov. 1 in accordance with their comprehensive military agreement. The two sides are prohibited from conducting live-fire artillery drills and regiment-level field maneuvering exercises within 5 kilometers (3.1 miles) of the Military Demarcation Line (MDL). No-fly zones have also been established along the demilitarized zone (DMZ) that ban the operation of drones, helicopters and other aircraft over an area up to 40 kilometers away from the MDL. The Koreas also created peace zones near their disputed Yellow Sea border. [YONHAP]