+ A

Ryu Seung-min elected head of Korea’s table tennis body

June 01,2019
Ryu Seung-min, 2004 Olympic gold medalist in table tennis, was elected president of the sport’s national governing body on Friday.

In a vote for the top post at the Korea Table Tennis Association (KTTA), Ryu defeated former women’s national team head coach Yoon Kil-jung 119 to 38.

Ryu, a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), is replacing Cho Yang-ho, the former Hanjin Group chairman who passed away last month.

Ryu will be at the helm for the rest of Cho’s term, which was to run through December 2021.

Ryu, who won the men’s singles gold medal at Athens 2004, has carved out a strong post-playing career as a sports administrator. He was elected to the IOC’s Athletes’ Commission in 2016 and had served as the KTTA’s vice president before resigning last week to run for president.